What is so “Simple” about an assault? Nothing.
Under New Hampshire law, there are all kinds of crimes with which one can be charged with “assault”. Although each category of assault is different, they all have one common element: touching someone else’s body without their permission. As you can imagine, unlawful touchings can fall under a huge array of categories such as felony assaults (usually involving weapons or severe injuries), vehicular assaults (causing someone injury by way of a car or truck), and sexual assault (involving the touching of genitals, breasts, and other personal body parts without permission). Then, there is Simple Assault.
The definition of Simple Assault is typically defined as:
Unprivileged physical contact with another person.
In case you are wondering, the word “unprivileged” is legal speak for “without permission”. So, if you touch, hit, poke, spit at, push, or blow smoke in someone’s face, you can be charged with Simple Assault, if any of these acts are done to someone without their permission.
In New Hampshire, Simple Assault is a misdemeanor offense. Prosecutors have the discretion to charge a Simple Assault as a class “A” or a class “B” misdemeanor. A conviction for a class “A” misdemeanor can land you in jail for up to 12 months and strap you with a $2,000 fine. A “B” misdemeanor conviction can fine you up to $1,200 dollars.
Experienced assault defense attorneys
Throughout their careers, Attorneys Osborne and Shepherd have both prosecuted and defended hundreds of Simple Assault cases. Thus, they have the experience and the knowledge as to how to best defend you from any Simple Assault charges you may be facing. Sometimes these cases require full blown trials in front of judges or juries. Other times these cases can be resolved by speaking to the prosecutor and working out an agreement that is beneficial to both you and the person who claims to have been assaulted.
It is important for you to remember, however, that you should not be lulled into believing that a “Simple” Assault is not a serious offense. Don’t be fooled by the word “simple”. A Simple Assault conviction can put you in jail, it can cost you your job, it can get you kicked out of school, bar you from a campus or place of business, ruin your reputation, and otherwise ruin your day.
If you have any questions or concerns about Simple Assault allegations, please feel free to call/email Mark Osborne or Justin Shepherd and chat with us for free. We don’t believe in charging people for consultations, so go ahead and ask us what you want to know.
Our Office Telephone Number is: 603-595-5525